top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKendall Brooke

Year 1: Buckeyethon! FTK

This year I was so lucky to stumble upon being apart of the dance marathon part of Buckeyethon. The freshman dancers started a team to be apart of Buckeyethon. I just joined because I wanted to do something fun with all of my friends. When I signed up, I had no idea how much it would change me. I never would have known how important it would become.


Most of the OSU Dance team was apart of the Gray shift was on Saturday from 10 am to 10 pm. It was full of so many fun activities to do throughout the day like Silent Disco, Painting with the kids, Zumba class, Gaga ball, or you can even watch different clubs perform in the main ballroom. The most awesome thing about the gray shift was that the kids were there the whole time and not just for the opening and closing ceremonies. It was so amazing to see the kids running around and enjoying all of the fun things that the dance marathon had.


After being on my feet all day for 12 hours and challenging myself to stay standing and not sit down at all, I felt exhausted. I felt to some extent what the families felt that always had to be doing things to help take care of their sick kids. I felt some of the pain that the kids felt from constantly going through treatment and not having a lot of time to be a normal kid. This event is so special because it gives these kids an opportunity to not be in a hospital bed constantly undergoing treatment, but it gave them the opportunity to do fun normal kid things.


After the long day of dancing and activities, there a closing ceremony that revealed how much money we had raised for Nationwide Children's Hospital. We had raised $1.6 million!!! It was all FOR THE KIDS.


$1.6 Million FOR THE KIDS

The experience opened my eyes to so many things. It made me really want to get more and more involved in Buckeyethon. I am so happy because I get to co-captain the OSU Dance team this year. It gives me the opportunity to meet the kids and be more involved before the Dance Marathon. I am also going to apply to be a general body member this year for Buckeyethon. It will get me more involved in the planning of the Dance Marathon and all of the other events before it as well.


I can't wait for next year.

FOR THE KIDS!

With Joy, Kendall


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page