top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKendall Brooke

Year 1: Zeta Tau Alpha

In January 2018, I got to go through recruitment to figure out if I really wanted to be in a sorority and if I did, then which one I would be in. The process was difficult to go through because it was exhausting and at times very disappointing. It was hard to just have a very short conversation with someone and be judged based off of that. It was definitely an experience that I will never forget. I got so lucky to end up in a sorority that I fell in love with by the end of recruitment. I was going to be apart of Zeta Tau Alpha.


Zeta was always a sorority that stuck out to me during recruitment. All of the girls were very different and there was such a variety of people in it. But one thing that always stuck out to me was how caring and genuine the girls were. Every round I talked to people that were not fake and did not put on some sort of facade. I knew that it was a good fit for me and that I would find amazing people in my time in Zeta.

During recruitment, I found someone that I matched very well with. We got along so well and it was just an instant connection between the two of us. Lucky enough, she was a sophomore and was looking for a little. After getting a bid to Zeta, I ultimately knew that I wanted Emily to be my big. No surprise that she is now my big!!! The sign behind us is right, You're stuck with me Em!!!!

Big-Little Reveal

After getting my bid and my big, I definitely felt that Zeta was the right fit for me. It would give me so many opportunities for service. It would keep pushing me to keep my grades up. It would give me the opportunity to meet so many amazing women and continue growing together throughout college.


PC '18

Since Zeta recolonized on campus only 2 years ago in 2016, this year we had Zeta's first very own big philanthropy event called "Big Buckeye on Campus". The event was a male beauty pageant that featured fraternity men that were competing against each other for the title of Big Buckeye on Campus. It was also a competition between the fraternities to raise the most money. After all of the fundraising and advertising for the event, we were so happy to say that we raised $23,000 for our very first philanthropy event!!!! Zeta's national philanthropy is Breast Cancer Education and Awareness so all of the money that was raised went to that.


Zeta has given me a family that I can lean on throughout my time at Ohio State. Also being the 2nd biggest National Chapter, I will continue to have a huge family even after I graduate from Ohio State. I can't wait to see what our chapter does in the years to come and I can't wait to be apart of it all.


Here's to many more years of sisterhood and memories to be made.

With Joy, Kendall


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page